On 25 May 2018, the Swedish Personal Data Act (PUL) was replaced by the EU's General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). The regulation applies to all types of personal registers and all companies that process personal data.
The employee's rights
The Data Inspectorate has compiled the employee's rights from the GDPR as follows:
The employee has the right to access their data
The personal data stored in the employee's schedule is primarily collected under the tabs "Personal data" and "Supplementary data." Apart from the fields "Work permit" and "Work experience," all this information is available to the employee in the Web app, under the menu item "Personal information."Besides, the information saved in Timeplan about the employee's employment. Data can be accessed with the report "Personal report." The report can be found under Personnel-> Reports.
The employee has the right to have incorrect personal data corrected
The persons who can view and change personal data are controlled through the user's User Profile. A change made in Timeplan immediately takes effect in all places in Timeplan and is visible directly, for example, in the Web app. In Timeplan, it is also possible to set that the employee can update their personal information in the Web app. If you want to change which information may be changed in the Web app, contact our support department, and they can easily adjust it.
The employee has the right to have their data deleted, "be forgotten."
Person-related information is removed from the schedule in two different ways, either by the user selecting "Delete" or by automatic cleaning.
If the user chooses to "Delete" a person, the personal data and related information will be deleted immediately. After that, the personal data is no longer available to the user, regardless of authorization level.
Person-related information is also gradually deleted automatically in Timeplan. See the paragraph "How long is the information stored in the Timeplan?" below for more details.
The employee has the right to object to the personal data being used for direct marketing.
It is up to the customer not to misuse the information collected in the system and be extracted, for example, with reports or export functions.
Exsens AB (Timeplan), as a company, has rigorous confidential handling of all information that we may. Could gain access to in connection with, for example, a support case. Exsens AB never stores, copies, or discloses information, whether about the customer or the customer's employees internally at the company or to third parties without the customer's or employee's express consent.
The Timeplan also does not give the customer's users changed permissions, but always refers to the customer's SuperAdministrator to ensure that unauthorized persons within the customer's organization are not given access to illegal information.
The employee must be able to move their data.
If the employee wishes to have access to their data digitally, please refer to the pdf file "Personal report." The report can be found under Personnel-> Reports.
How long is the information stored in the Timeplan?
Person-related information in Timeplan is deleted in two different ways, either by the administrator selecting "Delete" or by automatic cleaning.
The automatic cleaning takes place in four steps and takes place as standard as follows:
- Step 1: After six months, general user events are cleared away, e.g., login to the system.
- Step 2: After 12 months, unused work shifts, new basic schedule, and employees who are posted, but never employed, are cleared away. Bank details and personal messages are deleted for people with terminated employment.
- Step 3: After 48 months, attendance stamps, stamp messages, terminal messages, passage stamps, certifications, absences, and employees' work shifts are cleared. Employees with terminated employment are also removed.
- Step 4: After 60 months, the employees' account balances are cleared and saved only at the cost center.
As a customer, you want shorter cleaning intervals, contact our support department, and easily adjust it.
Security and intrusion
Data intrusion can be divided into two parts; (1) unauthorized access to personal information through Timeplan's user interface and (2) unauthorized access to confidential information through digital eavesdropping or directly to the database.
Access to Timeplan's user interface occurs by logging in with a username, password, and choice of a facility within the company.
The complexity of the password can be configured according to the customer's wishes with the following parameters:
- Password validity (in days)
- Minimum number of uppercase letters in the password
- Minimum number of digits in password
- Minimum length of a password
A logged-in user who has been inactive for a certain period is automatically logged out. The standard is 15 minutes but can be adapted to each customer's wishes.
Timeplan uses a flexible accessibility model where the customer can create Users and User Profiles. The user profile controls which pages and functions in the system the user is entitled to, and for each user, it is stated which cost centers the user is allowed. The user only has the right to see employees who are connected to the user's cost centers.
For some customers, identification is made when registering attendance using fingerprints. Fingerprints are never saved in the form of an image but the form of a series of coordinates. It is not possible to recreate a graphical illustration of the fingerprint using the coordinates. Still, it only compares two coordinate series to verify a presented fingerprint with one stored in the database.
No information from Timeplan's administrator interface is sent in exact text, but all traffic is sent encrypted via https.
Timeplan uses Microsoft's cloud service, Azure, to host the virtual operating servers. Microsoft's Northern Europe server park is located in Ireland. Access to the servers is strictly limited, and only entry from predefined IP addresses is allowed. During server maintenance, all traffic to the operating servers takes place via encrypted VPN.
Server maintenance and updating of operating systems and virus protection takes place regularly and follows a predetermined schedule.
Consent and impact assessment
It is the employer's responsibility to inform and actively obtain consent from the employee. If the employee's age is less than 16 years, permission must also be obtained from the parent.
The registrar's responsibility is to carry out impact assessments for certain types of personal data processing that may involve a high privacy risk. One part of this can be to carry out a so-called " Privacy Impact Assessments " to reliably ensure that your company meets the requirements of the regulation.
As a Swedish inquiry, appointed by the government, is working to adapt the GDPR to Swedish legislation, this compilation will probably be updated as new information and laws are added.
Inform the employees
If you, as an employer, want to inform your employees about your internal GDPR routines, we recommend that you use the notification function in Timeplan. The advantage of using the function is that you can see in the Timeplan that the employee has read the message.
To send a message to all employees, do the following:
- Click the Message icon in the left menu and then select "New" in the toolbar.
- Fill in the Title and Message.
- Select all employees in the "Employees" list and then select "Send."
- To see if the employee has read the message, go to Personnel \ Messages.
Personal information in Timeplan
Exsens AB is a program provider and personal data assistant for the processing of personal data in Timeplan. It is you as a customer who is responsible for personal data and who knows which personal data you will process in Timeplan. The following information can be saved in the Timeplan.
The following information can be saved about an employee:
- Sick leave
- On leave
- Parental leave
- Care of children
- First name
- Employment number
- Social security number
- Date of birth
- Phone number
- Mobile number
- Card Number
- Language skills
- Work permit (empty date)
- Work habits
- Relative information (name, address, telephone 1, telephone 2)
- Bank name
- Bank account number
- Completed training and skills
- Fingerprint (converted to a series of coordinates, not image)
- A tax deduction, the tax rate
- General note field
- Salary notice
- Absence, common types of absence:
- Employment information
- Date of employment
- The end date of employment
- Weekly working hours
- Collective agreement
- Holiday right
- Holiday agreement
The following information can be saved about a System User:
- User name